Written by Tamarindo News

By Ellen Zoe Golden Photo courtesy: Federación de Surf de Costa Rica

The 2018 Kölbi Circuito Nacional de Surf presented by INS Joven and Adrenaline Rush is finished and with this comes all the new Costa Rican national surf champions. The most impressive accomplishment of the year came from 15-year-old Rubiana Brownell of Avellanas, who made history after the Gran Finals were finished last month in Playa Hermosa. Rubiana Brownell not only won the 2018 Women’s title, she also claimed national championships for Junior Women’s and Girls. This recordbreaking accomplishment—making her the youngest surfer, male or female, to have claimed three titles in one year— came as the result of repeated podium appearances in various categories at this year’s contests. Hermosa’s Gran Final was no different, as she won 1st place in the Women’s, Junior Women’s and Girls for the date. She then handily selected five of her best dates in order to claim her triple-crown national championships. Prior to 2018, only one other surfer in the history of the Circuito had won three categories in one contest and that was Carlos Muñoz, who achieved that accomplishment also at 15 in 2009. Muñoz is a former national champion and right now ranked #71 on WSL QS among the 1100-plus guys on that chart. “This is my best year since I’ve competed,” Brownell said. “This is due to the commitment that I have and Costa Rica’s national surf team (from left): Eva Woodland, Coral Wiggins, Zulay Martínez, Anthony Fillingim, Jair Pérez, Tomás King Sabatto. El equipo nacional de surf de Costa Rica (de derecha a izquierda): Eva Woodland, Coral Wiggins, Zulay Martínez, Anthony Fillingim, Jair Pérez, Tomás King Sabatto. S.By Ellen Zoe Golden URF REPORT .Photo courtesy: Federación de Surf de Costa Rica Reporte de Surf my passion for surfing and competing. Thanks to everyone who makes this championship possible and see you in 2019.” The 2018 Open title was won by Anthony FIllingim of Santa Teresa, making this his second national Open championship. He earned this right by merely reaching the finals in Hermosa. There he earned enough points from his best five dates of the countrywide tournament for his 2018 trophy. With Tamarindo’s Malakai Martínez opting out of the Gran Finals to compete in the Juniors contest at the prestigious Vans US Open QS in Huntington Beach, California, Fillingim went into Hermosa with Jordan Hernández of Puerto Viejo as his chief rival. However, with Hernández falling out earlier than Fillingim, who did make it to the final heat, the latter earned his national accolade with the points from that position. “Jordan today gave me a decent fight and that makes me feel incredible because I prepared a lot for this day,” said Fillingim. “I want to thank all those who have supported me this year, which has been very hard for me but this result motivates me to move forward.” Meanwhile Martínez, still won the Costa Rica Juniors title even while in California where he made it all the way to a very impressive Juniors semifinals there. That heat included Australian Barron Mamiya, who went on to win the event.

Fillingim is doubly excited because he has joined five other Costa Ricans who have been selected to compete this month at the International Surfing Association (ISA) World Championship in Tokyo. This contest is part of the country’s Olympic qualification that will ultimately decide just who among the best Tico surfers will compete in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. This contest will be the first-time the ISA has changed its competitive format to just three men and three women (previously four and two), and the team is vying to remain in the Top 10 when all is said and done in Japan. Costa Rica has been in the Top 10 since 2003. The common factor among the six selected for this honor is that everyone has experience in ISA events. As a matter of fact, all three of these women traveled to Japan last year to represent Costa Rica in the Junior World Cup, where that team finished in seventh place. Fillingim, for his part, is a subchampion of the ISA, having earned a silver medal in 2014. King’s experience in the QS, and Pérez’s continually strong showing in the Kölbi Circuito Nacional give the Tico coach Jim Hogan a lot of confidence in a good team wide showing. Along with this team’s performance, Hogan is keeping in mind that best Ticos on the QS right now, which includes Muñoz, Noe Mar McGonagle, Leilani McGonagle and Brisa Hennessy, will all be considered for a powerhouse Olympic selection in a few years’ time.

Costa Rica national champions 2017-2018

Open: Anthony Fillingim (Santa Teresa)

Women’s: Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)

Junior: Malakai Martínez (Tamarindo)

Junior Women’s: Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)

Boys: Aaron Ramirez (Jacó)

Girls: Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)

Grommet: Axel Castro (Cieneguita)

Minigrommets: Leo Apreda (Jacó)

Minigrommet Girls: Candelaria Resano (Nicaragua)

The full World Championship team is:


Women’s Open: Zulay Martínez Juárez

Coral Wiggins Araya

Eva Woodland Solano

Men’s Open:

Anthony Fillingim Abarca

Jair Pérez Quirós

Tomás King Sabatto

Results Reef Gran Reef July /2018.

Playa HERMOSA Open

  1. Jair Pérez (Jacó) 2. José López (Jacó) 3. Anthony Fillingim (Santa Teresa) 4. André Chacón (Jacó)


  1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas) 2. Valeria Ojeda (Jacó) 3. Lisbeth Vindas (Jacó) 4. Ericka Valverde (Dominical)

Junior 1. Steven Arauz (Cieneguita) 2. Gabriel Córdoba (Puerto Viejo) 3. Aarón Álvarez (Jacó) 4. Sebastián Mora (Santa Teresa)

Junior Women’s

  1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas) 2. Valeria Ojeda (Jacó) 3. Auxiela Ryan (Puerto Viejo) 4. Rachel Agüero (Jacó)


  1. Darshan Antequera (Jacó) 2. Aarón Ramírez (Jacó) 3. Kenneth Peralta (Jacó) 4. Sam Reidy (Dominical)

Girls  1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas) 2. Valeria Ojeda (Jacó) 3. Indiana Ferri (Puerto Viejo) 4. Auxiela Ryan (Puerto Viejo)

Grommet  1. Axel Castro (Cieneguita) 2. Ziggy Myrie (Jacó) 3. Leonardo Apreda (Jacó) 4. Tosh Talbot (Mata Palo)


  1. David Monge (Jacó) 2. Ethan Hollander (Dominical) 3. Teo Galé (Panamá) 4. Leonardo Apreda (Jacó)

Minigrommet Girls

  1. Candelaria Resano (Nicaragua) 2. Rachel Agüero (Jacó) 3. Máxima Resano (Nicaragua) 4. Erika Berra (Puerto Viejo)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.