Leonardo Calvo and Rubiana Brownell Win Surfing Republica Cup in Guiones

Written by Tamarindo News

The third date of the Kölbi National Surf Tournament received almost 300 participants this past weekend in Playa Guiones, Nosara, Guanacaste, in the Surfing Republica Cup.

21 year-old, Leo Calvo from Boca Barranca, Puntarenas, took the first place in the Open category, beating Ramón Taliani, Olman Morales and Sebastian Mora, all from Santa Teresa, Cóbano.

Calvo has previously won in the U12, U14,U16 and U18 categories in national tournaments.

¨This is a long due win. There are many good surfers in Costa Rica, like the rivals I had in the final, this year I´d like to get in the battle for the national title… we will have to see how the year moves along¨, commented Calvo after his win.

This win took Calvo from position 41 to 9 in the ranking. Gilbert Brown and Jair Pérez were he winners of the first two dates of the National Surf Tournament. Pérez maintains the first place of the Circuit since he classified to the semifinals while Olman Morales follows in second place after making it through to three finals.

In the female open, it was current champion Rubiana Brownell, from Avellanas, Guanacaste who took the victory for the first time in this tournament.

Final Results:

1. Leonardo Calvo (Boca Barranca)
2. Ramón Taliani (Santa Teresa)
3. Sebastián Mora (Santa Teresa)
4. Olman Morales (Santa Teresa)
Female Open
1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
2. Paulina Summers (Puerto Viejo)
3. Julissa Matamoros (Matapalo)
4. Rachel Agüero (Jaco)
1. Sam Reidy (Dominical)
2. Tao Rodriguez (Panamá)
3. Kenneth Peralta (Jaco)
4. Axel Castro (Cieneguita)
Female Junior
1. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
2. Paulina Summers (Puerto Viejo)
3. Indiana Ferri (Puerto Viejo)
4. Valeria Ojeda (Jaco)
1. Sam Reidy (Dominical)
2. Tao Rodriguez (Panama)
3. Aarón Ramirez (Jaco)
4. Ethan Hollander (Dominical)
1. Paulina Summers (Puerto Viejo)
2. Valeria Ojeda (Jaco)
3. Rubiana Brownell (Avellanas)
4. Rachel Agüero (Jaco)
1. Leo Apreda (Jaco)
2. Kailani Abrahao (Tamarindo)
3. Teo Gale (Panama)
4. Pietro Garroux (Tamarindo)
1. Ethan Hollander (Dominical)
2. Leo Apreda (Jaco)
3. Kian Ashara (Nosara)
4. Rains Sullivan (Nosara)
1. Ericka Berra (Puerto Viejo)
2. Ava North (Santa Teresa)
3. Isabel Ayre
1. Marcelo Morán (Nosara)
2. Daniel Alvarez (Dominican Republic)
3. Marcel Oliveira (Jaco)
4. Adolfo Gómez (Sámara)
1. Jefferson Tascón (Herradura)
2. Marcel Oliveira (Jaco)
3. Alvaro Solano (Jaco)
4. José Ruiz (Nosara)
1. Gilbert Brown (Puerto Viejo)
2. Alvaro Solano (Jaco)
3. Diego Naranjo (Jaco)
4. Mauricio Umaña (Jaco)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Source link

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.